Region's join forces to advance tourism

Key tourism regions of the Sunshine Coast are joining forces with Visit Sunshine Coast (VSC) in a new agreement to market the destination.

VSC has created a new Destination Promotion Program and will partner with sub-regional groups via a panel to increase destination awareness and visitation to the area.

Visit Sunshine Coast Chair David Ryan said in a competitive marketplace, the partnership would pay-off for the Sunshine Coast’s tourism industry.

“We are competing against destinations around the globe and it makes sense to have joint experts coming together to build a stronger and more unified Sunshine Coast brand.

“The panel will work as a conduit between the tourism community in their respective sub-regions and the VSC team, as we work towards an agreed set of priorities and marketing activities of mutual and regional benefit,” said Mr Ryan.

The appointed panel members include: Angus Richards (Hinterland), Louise Formosa (Eumundi), Megan Hartstone (Coolum), Ken Jeffreys (Caloundra), Billy Moore (Mooloolaba), Brendan Bathersby (Maroochydore) and John Orning (Kawana).

Visit Sunshine Coast CEO Simon Latchford said VSC has created significant outcomes working with regions in the past, but this new program will formalise the relationship to benefit the region’s tourism future.

“As an example, we have been working in tandem with Mooloolaba Business and Tourism to create new images and a television advertisement currently airing in the surrounding drive market. As an extension of our Come to Life campaign launched earlier in the year, this is an enticing compilation of hero Mooloolaba ‘must-dos’ that tell a powerful story and will resonate with potential visitors to the Sunshine Coast.

“With a move towards more digital promotion, we still recognise television as a powerful way to reach people and have hosted national breakfast programs – Today and Sunrise regularly in region this year; with broadcasts beamed across the country from Caloundra, Cotton Tree, Coolum, Eumundi and Palmwoods.

“This is a different way of structuring the panel that will strengthen our position in the tourism industry, and I believe will enhance our destination appeal for visitors. We will be working smarter as one unit with everyone all on the same page – inevitably to benefit the entire region,” added Mr Latchford.

Panel Members
Angus Richard, Sunshine Coast Hinterland
Angus is Chairman of Hinterland Sunshine Coast (HTSC), and previous owner and operator of Clouds of Montville (17 years). Angus has been nominated by the committee to represent the 170 members of HTSC. Angus also works closely with the business and tourism chambers across the Hinterland (Maleny/Montville and Glasshouse).

Louise Formosa, Eumundi
Louise is an executive member of the Eumundi Chamber of Commerce. They have endorsed her nomination to the Panel, to represent the various businesses in Eumundi.

Megan Hartstone, Coolum
Megan is a management rights owner of Surf Dance Apartments in Coolum. She is also Secretary of the Coolum Business and Tourism committee and is endorsed and nominated to represent the members and industry.

Ken Jeffreys, Caloundra
Ken is the Chairman of Caloundra Tourism and has been nominated by the committee to represent the tourism members of Caloundra Tourism/Caloundra Chamber of Commerce and the tourism industry within Caloundra. Ken also owns his own business, Caloundra Jet Ski.

Billy Moore, Mooloolaba
Billy has owned and operated multiple tourism businesses in Mooloolaba for many years and currently owns and operates, Augello'sRistorante & Pizzeria. Billy is passionate about Mooloolaba and has been nominated and endorsed by the Mooloolaba Business and Tourism committee to represent the best interests of Mooloolaba on the panel.

Brendan Bathersby, Maroochydore
Brendan was elected and endorsed by the Maroochy Chamber to represent the businesses within the Maroochydore region. Brendan is an executive member on the Chamber of Commerce.

John Orning, Kawana
John is the General Manager of the Best Western Hotel in Kawana and has been endorsed by the Kawana Chamber of Commerce to represent their interests. John is also a committee member of Caloundra Tourism.

Image caption left to right:
Back row: Andrew Fairbairn (VSC), Brendan Bathersby, Bridgette Silcock (standing in for Billy Moore), John Orning, Louise Formosa and Simon Latchford (VSC)
Front row: Angus Richard, David Ryan (VSC), Ken Jeffreys and Megan Hartstone.