Bankfoot House Heritage Precinct


Built in 1868, Bankfoot House is a state heritage-listed property and the oldest surviving residence in the Glass House Mountains. Cobb & Co coaches travelling between Brisbane and the Gympie goldfields used the property as a lunch stop and staging post. Independent travellers used Bankfoot House as an overnight stop, paying one shilling for dinner, one shilling for a bed and one shilling for their horse.

Bankfoot House also had its own general store, butcher shop, blacksmith and was the post office. Occupied for over 130 years by three generations of the same family, the house is furnished with original domestic items providing a unique glimpse into early life on the Sunshine Coast. The Bankfoot House collection covers a broad period, from 19th Century migrant settlement to the modern-day era and holds more than 6,200 items.

Entry: Adults $5. Children Free

Opening hours

Bankfoot House is open on the last Sunday of the month from 10am until 3pm (January to November), or by appointment. For bookings, email friendsofbankfoot@gmail.com

Facilities
  • Car parking
  • Bus set-down
  • Toilets
  • Picnic area